USA Announces Men's Basketball Roster

Durant and Anthony are the only players with Olympic experience after a number of stars, including LeBron James, made a decision to skip Rio.

Rounding out the roster are centers DaMarcus Cousins (Kings) and DeAndre Jordan (Clippers), forwards Carmelo Anthony (Knicks), Jimmy Butler (Bulls), Kevin Durant (Thunder) and guards Paul George (Pacers) and Kyrie Irving (Cavaliers).

The U.S. basketball team has its roster for Rio. "I love our depth... we've got a great mix of talent, scorers, past gold medal winners and outstanding youth".

Kevin Durant, the 2010 FIBA Basketball World MVP and Olympic champion two years later in London, has returned to the side after missing Spain 2014. Most of the wings listed could conceivably work as primary ball-handlers, and nearly all of them could play the four in the worldwide game. I think we have some terrific defenders as well as terrific shooters, and the versatility is over the top.”.

Former Michigan State All-American Draymond Green has been named to the 12-man U.S. Olympic Men's Basketball Team.

As for his National Basketball Association future, Durant has meetings scheduled with at least six teams, ESPN reported.

Despite many players opting not to play in the Rio Olympics, Jerry Colangelo and Mike Krzyzewski put together a solid team, capable of winning their third straight goal medal. The U.S. squad went 8-0 mark in Rome and recorded a +42.4 points per game margin of victory en route to the gold medal.

Three other members of the USA's triumphant side from 2014 - Klay Thompson, DeMarcus Cousins and DeMar DeRozan - are also in the team.

Irving has previously played with the men's national team under Krzyzewski.

Irving will be the sixth former Duke men's basketball player to represent the the Olympic Games, joining Tate Armstrong (1976), Carlos Boozer (2004 and 2008), Grant Hill (1996), Christian Laettner (1992) and Jeff Mullins (1964).

The squad will train from July 18-21 in Las Vegas, followed by exhibitions against Argentina, China, Venezuela and Nigeria over the following 10 days before the Rio opening ceremony on August 5. The third and final OQT will be held in Manila, Philippines from July 5-11, and the field includes Canada, France, New Zealand, Philippines, Senegal and Turkey.

China confirms air face-off with Japan over East China Sea
Kenney's exit from federal politics to have domino effect on Tory leadership