Bound migrants barred from flying to NY from Cairo

Trump on Friday signed a sweeping executive order to suspend refugee arrivals and impose tough controls on travellers from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

Qatar Airways is advising passengers bound for the United States from seven newly banned majority Muslim countries that they need to have either a US green card or diplomatic visa to travel.

The airline's website did not provide updated travel advice for the United States.

It listed foreign government, United Nations, global organization and North Atlantic Treaty Organisation visas.

Manel Vrijenhoek, at KLM's press office, told the Associated Press said the seven were due to fly with KLM from different airports around the world.

Five Iraqi passengers and one Yemeni were stopped from boarding an EgyptAir flight headed from Cairo to NY on Saturday. The officials said the seven migrants, escorted by officials from the United Nations refugee agency, were stopped from boarding the plane after authorities at Cairo airport contacted their counterparts in JFK airport.

The five Iraqis had arrived in transit from Erbil and were being held at the airport until they could be re-boarded on flights back to Iraq, whereas the Yemeni passenger had arrived at the airport from elsewhere in Cairo, they added.

The move by the US President has sparked confusion and anger after immigrants and refugees were kept off flights and left stranded in airports.

US, Serbia finish 0-0 in Bruce Arena's coaching return
Sutton stun Leeds to advance to FA Cup round of 16