St George' S Set to Host T20 Global League Franchise

The teams will be hosted in eight cities - Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth, Stellenbosch and Benoni. As per it, owners of Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils have chose to expand their base in south Africa as as also owners of Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi from PSL.

The highly-anticipated T20 tournament, South Africa's version of the Indian Premier League or the KFC Big Bash League, also revealed the owners of each of the eight franchises. SRK's team will be called Capetown Knight Riders.This is SRK's third team in T20 cricket leagues after Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League and Trinbago Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League.

The Pretoria-based franchise was bought by Osman Osman, a South African-based businessman and the associated marquee player is David Miller.

Marquee players were bused from Southampton, and some - like De Kock - flew back in from their break at home. A former Kolpak player himself, du Plessis returned to South Africa in 2010-11 after two years at Lancashire and has since become a regular across all formats and in T20 leagues around the world.

The city of Durban will see their local marquee in Hashim Amla. Owners of the Delhi Daredevils, GMR Sports, bought the Johannesburg franchise, with Kagiso Rabada as their marquee player.

McCullum is just one of almost 400 players from 10 different nations to register for the draft stage of the tournament that starts in November.

The process of applying to own and operate a team opened on February 4, with more than 150 expressions of interest of ownership now narrowed down to just eight.

"Competition was stiff, with more than 150 expressions of interest (EOI) received from around the world and a shortlist of heavy hitters to consider, but after rigorous discussions and engagement with each of the potential owners, we are certain that our final eight owners have the flawless combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success", said Chris Nenzani, president of CSA.

"The announcement of the team owners is a key milestone to successfully launch our T20 Global League", commented CSA Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

Other marquee players already signed up include England limited overs players Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy, and ex-international Chris Gayle (West Indies).

Eland Oil & Gas PLC (ELA) Rating Reiterated by Canaccord Genuity
'Sombre' Britain prepares for historic Brexit talks