Paul Auster, Arundhati Roy Lead Man Booker Prize Longlist

Arundhati Roy’s The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness Enters Longlist For Booker Prize

Paul Auster, Arundhati Roy Lead Man Booker Prize Longlist

Her second novel, published in June, is described by the Booker judges as "a rich and vital book [that] comes from the bowels of India".

Paul Auster's gargantuan novel "4 3 2 1" is one of 13 novels to make the longlist for this year's Man Booker Prize. Arundhati Roy, who won the prize in 1997 for her debut novel, A God Of Small Things, has been nominated twenty years later for her second novel, The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness.

Alongside her on the longlist are four writers from the United Kingdom, four from the U.S., two Irish and two Pakistani.

As reported by the Guardian, Saunders, Whitehead and Auster will be competing with two new names: Fiona Mozley, from the United Kingdom, and American Emily Fridlund, both picked for their debut novels, Elmet and History of Wolves respectively.

Other writers on the list include Emily Fridlund from U.S. (History of Wolves), Mike McCormack from Ireland (Solar Bones), Jon McGregor from U.K. (Reservoir 13), Fiona Mozley from U.K. (Elmet), George Saunders from U.S. (Lincoln in the Bardo) Kamila Shamsie from U.K. and Pakistan (Home Fire) and Colson Whitehead from U.S. (The Underground Railroad).

In the longlist are two Pakistani authors, Kamila Shamsie and Mohsin Hamid; two Irish authors, Sebastian Barry and Mike McCormack; four from the United States and four from the UK.

Also featured in the list is a debut novel written by a bookshop worker called Fiona Mozley.

The shortlist will be annouced on 13th September, and the victor will be revealed at a ceremony in London on 17th October.

Last year, Paul Beatty won the Booker for The Sellout, making him the first American to win the prestigious literary prize since it was opened up to U.S. authors in 2014.

This year's longlist is very diverse.

Literary critic Lola Young, chairwoman of the judging panel, said the list contained works of "huge energy, imagination and variety", reported the Associated Press. The victor of the Man Booker will be declared on 17 October.

JaVale McGee will reportedly return to Warriors, continuing champs' big summer
Galaxy goodbye: Coach fired, replaced by all-time soccer winner