Balochistan Assembly meets today to elect new leader of house

Balochistan Assembly elects CM today

Balochistan Assembly meets today to elect new leader of house

Bizenjo, who had moved the motion of no-confidence against former CM Sanaullah Zehri, managed to bag 41 votes in 65-member house.

"I will reach out to all political parties, including PkMAP and NP for parliamentary consultation and we will try to resolve issues in the province by keeping everyone together", said the newly-elected chief minister.

Zehri, the former chief minister of Balochistan, was reportedly asked to resign ahead of the session to spare his party - the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) - further embarrassment after Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi failed to win over the disgruntled elements in the Balochistan Assembly.

A total 54 votes were polled by the lawmakers and Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party's (PkMAP) Agha Syed Liaquat Ali bagged 13 votes.

Bizenjo was sworn in as the chief minister and the oath was administered at Governor House.

Earlier, fifteen out of its 21 lawmakers had rebelled against it. He resigned the very day the assembly was to take up a no-trust motion, filed against him by PML-Q members and his own party dissidents, on January 9.

Bizenjo was born in Awaran on January 1, 1974, and contested elections for the first time in 2002.

He was re-elected in 2008 on PML-Q ticket and served as minister in Nawab Aslam Raisani's cabinet during its five-year tenure.

But, a thing that make his selection different from others is number of votes which he got during 2013 General Elections. The turnover was too low as the separatist groups had boycotted the 2013 elections.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid candidate remained Deputy Speaker from 2013-15.

He viewed that there were no personal differences with Nawab Sanaullah and appreciated him over tendering his resignation.

Qudoos Bizenjo a member of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), was voted as the third chief minister of Balochistan in four years in a session of the provincial assembly.

JUI-F's Maulana Abdul Wasay, leader of the opposition in the provincial assembly, said the opposition would not join the new provincial government.

A political crisis developed in Balochistan following the no-confidence motion, with efforts stepped up by the PML-N, which has a government both in the centre and province, to defuse the situation.

The chief minister said that the new provincial cabinet comprises 14 ministers and four advisers.

Rex Burkhead, Mike Gillislee likely out for Patriots
Haryana BJP chief Subhash Barala's son Vikas gets bail in stalking case