Sea of Thieves getting Closed Beta on Xbox One and PC

Sea of Thieves getting Closed Beta on Xbox One and PC

Sea of Thieves getting Closed Beta on Xbox One and PC

Microsoft has announced a tie-in accessory for upcoming pirate-themed action-adventure game Sea of Thieves, with a deep purple, glow-in-the-dark Xbox One controller, available as of next month.

How can I get access to the Closed Beta? If you missed out on the Insider Programme, pre-order now to ensure access to the Closed Beta! You can't join that programme anymore, but can still get into the beta by pre-ordering the game.

Pre-orders for the highly anticipated Sea of Thieves - Xbox One are LIVE at Amazon! Also, the beta will not be under NDA, meaning players can "stream, create videos, share clips, take screenshots", and more, without worrying about the giant foot of Microsoft coming down on them, which is more than welcome.

For more on Sea of Thieves, check out Rare's guide to how players will progress in-game, or read about why developer Rare thinks returning to old franchises would be the "worst thing to do".

The closed beta begins at 4 AM PT / 7 AM ET / 12 PM GMT on January 24 and runs until 12 AM PT / 3 AM ET / 8 AM GMT on January 29. If you happened to have pre-ordered a physical copy of the game you'll need to redeem your code for the Black Dog cosmetic pack.

In Sea of Thieves, a group of players travel and explore an open world via a pirate ship and assume different roles such as steering, hoisting sails, navigation, firing cannons and other tasks.

Sea of Thieves - Xbox One has a scheduled release date of March 20, 2018.

Oprah in 2020? Friends send mixed messages on her future
Kendall Jenner shut down comments about her acne like a boss