European Union extends Russian Federation sanctions over Ukraine crisis



Earlier Monday, the European Union renewed a six-month extension of sanctions against Russian Federation for its annexation of Crimea and support for rebels in eastern Ukraine.

"An assessment of the situation did not justify a change in the sanctions regime", the EU's 28 member states said in a statement.

Asset freezes and travel bans now affect 150 individuals, up one from six months earlier, and 38 "entities", which include businesses, organisations and political parties.

Earlier Petro Poroshenko, the President of Ukraine claimed that Ukraine will not recognize the election of the president of Russian Federation in occupied Crimea and implement the sanctions against its organizers.

Those targeted are accused of "actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine".

The EU also has individual sanctions in force against Russian Federation over its 2014 annexation of Crimea from Ukraine. We also will continue to condemn the violations of the worldwide law and we also will not recognize the election that will be held in Crimea and continue the sanctions.

The entity list is dominated by Russia-backed battalions operating in eastern Ukraine and Crimea as well as companies from Crimea.

The U.N. General Assembly voted to proclaim the Russian annexation illegal.

Russia's annexation led Western powers, including the US, to impose sanctions against Moscow.

Renowned conductor, James Levine, sacked by New York's Metropolitan Opera
Spotify makes South African debut