WhatsApp changes its 'delete for everyone' feature

WhatsApp tips and tricks

EXPRESS NEWSPAPERSYou get a few minutes to delete a message once it's been sent

WhatsApp users across the globe breathed a collective sigh of relief last October when the app introduced a way of unsending messages that had already been dispatched - calling back missives from the ether, as long as you retrieved it within seven minutes or so.

If you are wondering about the curiously specific extended length of the messaging grace period, and you are not a mathematical savant, The Verge points out that one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds is 2 seconds.

WhatsApp is also reportedly working on a new "Forwarded message" feature to make the receiver aware that the sender has forwarded it from a different chat or group, or even from the same chat. This change was also applied to recent WhatsApp for iOS and Windows Phone updates. If now deletes message with only date of less than 24 hours.

WhatsApp is testing a new feature called "block revoke request" to prevent people from misusing the "Delete for Everyone" feature.

The report states that the chat app has decided on 24 hours as time frame to ensure that the recipient receives the revoke request.

The platform has decided to choose 24 hours as time reference because a user can delete a message for everyone and the recipient's phone might be turned off at that moment. However, it allowed for only a rather short seven minutes, for your (possibly drunk) brain to decide to erase errant messages from your own and the recipient's / group's device. Report states that WhatsApp has now improved its maths so it now finds a message in the database having the same ID as that of the evoke message request, it first goes through the data of the message saved in the database.

Grab the default wallpaper for the Huawei P20 right here
Rain or shine, Roger Federer remains flawless in 2018