Storm wins third WNBA title

Stewart Storm surge past Mystics for third WNBA title

Storm wins third WNBA title

The Seattle Storm celebrate after capturing their third WNBA crown.

Washington battled Seattle and history.

While Wednesday's 98-82 victory for the Seattle Storm over the Washington Mystics gave the Storm it's third WNBA title, it is the first for Webb.

Breanna Stewart won four NCAA championships at UConn and won four Final Four MVP awards.

"The team that we played in their own way are champions", he said.

"Every one of us, one through 12, the coaching staff ... helped us reach this point".

The three-year veteran connected on 9 of 20 shots, including 4 of 5 from long range. "I didn't know if I'd be playing at this point".

Washington did mount a 6-0 run late in the third quarter, and capitalized on a technical foul on Seattle coach Dan Hughes, to cut the lead to 10 points.

However, the Storm closed the door with a 24-10 run that included a pair of dagger three-pointers from backup guard Sami Whitcomb and Bird. In Game 3, the Storm were outplayed by the Mercury, who received dominant performances from DeWanna Bonner, Brittney Griner and unlikely hero Yvonne Turner. In Game 2, the Mystics missed all 16 of their three-point attempts, any of which would have been the difference in a two-point loss. The Storm's previous championships came in 2004 and 2010.

It was close at the start of the second quarter, and then it wasn't after Stewart took over and scored nine points in the period.

What took place on Wednesday night on the campus of George Mason University, in a green-and-yellow arena turned red-and-blue, would have been hard to imagine just two years ago. "We all know that we're happy and we're proud of where we were at, but we want to be better and I don't think you have to say that".

Stewart agreed that Howard made things easier for her this season. Starting with a Stewart 3-point play, Seattle countered with eight consecutive points and pulled away.

Natasha Howard, who won a title with the Minnesota Lynx last season, had 29 points on 11-for-14 shooting and a game-high 14 rebounds for the Storm. Their combined 59 points alone accounted for more than 61 percent of the Storms' points.

Joining Stewart (195 points) and Taurasi (179) on the All-WNBA First Team are Dallas Wings center Liz Cambage (190), Washington Mystics forward Elena Delle Donne (184) and Atlanta Dream guard Tiffany Hayes (138).

"Honestly, it didn't feel like my first WNBA Finals closeout".

As expected, her numbers in the three-game sweep of the Washington Mystics were outstanding: 25.7 points, 6.0 rebounds, 3.7 assists, 1.7 steals, 51.0 percent shooting from the field and 54.5 percent shooting from three. "She truly was the MVP of this league".

She became the sixth player in WNBA history to be named regular season and Finals MVP in the same year, joining last year's victor Sylvia Fowles (2017), former Storm star Lauren Jackson (2010), Phoenix's Diana Taurasi (2009) and a pair of legends in Lisa Leslie (2001) and Cynthia Cooper (1997, 1998).

Check out the official iPhone XS, XS Max and XR promo videos
John McEnroe defends Serena Williams: 'I have said far worse'