Do not forget to put clocks back an hour tonight

Calling time on turning the clocks back and forward — Saving Daylight

Calling time on turning the clocks back and forward — Saving Daylight

British Summer Time (BST) will end in the early hours of Sunday, October 28, 2018.

This year, the clocks go back on Sunday, October 28 at 2am.

Between 1916 and the Second World War, the clocks were put forward by one hour in the United Kingdom in spring.

While most people's phones, tablets and laptops automatically update, some people have had a bit of confusion with their activity trackers - some are showing the time as it was before the clocks went back, leaving some people in a bit of panic if they're heading for work.

If you always forget whether clocks go forwards or backwards, just remember the popular saying: 'Spring forward, fall back'.

When do the clocks go forward again?

Daylight Saving Time was finally introduced after the war to save fuel.

"Time change is not that recent", says Pascal Paul from Kronos watches.

It will then change back to British Summer Time.

This saw clocks being pushed forwards an hour at the start of spring, and inevitably backwards in the Autumn.

William Willett is the great-great-grandfather of Coldplay's Chris Martin, who have a song called "Clocks".

That's right, we've hit that confusing point in the year when the clocks have gone back. While the United Kingdom has always had daylight savings time since it was first introduced, it came into widespread use across the world during the 1970s because of the energy crisis.

In Britain, changing the clock began in 1916 when the Government passed the Summer Time Act the same year.

Under current proposals, March 2019 will be final mandatory change, though a final optional change could still take place in October. Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Turkey, and Tasmania also immediately followed suit.

Angela Merkel 'to abandon key CDU party role'
Voters back scrapping blasphemy offence from Ireland's constitution