Facebook users warned about hoax messages

You can stop forwarding messages to your Facebook friends telling them “almost every account is being cloned.”

You can stop forwarding messages to your Facebook friends telling them “almost every account is being cloned.”

Essentially, the message is warning that your Facebook account has been cloned.

- Have you received a warning from a Facebook friend about multiple friend requests?

The message is fake and by forwarding it your Facebook friends or followers it only persists in spreading the hoax.

This prompts everyone else who receives it to believe their accounts may have also been cloned. There are no bugs or hacks linked to it, it is just an annoying chain message.

If you're concerned however, you can check whether your account has been cloned by typing your name into the Facebook search bar.

The message goes on to instruct Facebook users to hold their finger on the message until the forward button appears and then prompts them to forward it to all of their friends.

So, all of those messages that you're seeing from your friends anxious that they were hacked? As of now, ignore the "Got Another Friend Request from You" message.

In 2016, a similar mass cloning scam occurred on Facebook.

Of course, there have been multiple real Facebook scandals recently; from reports of logins being sold on the dark web to the massive data breach at the end of September, it's been a rocky month for the social media company. There is no bug or virus now confirmed that is sending your Friends fake requests.

Facebook hacks mean somebody has access to your account and any information or messages within it.

Simply delete the message and whatever you do, do NOT forward it to friends.

"Please stop sending me copy and paste emails about Facebook accounts being cloned".

Broken neck: All Blacks expect Cane to play again
Michael now a Category 1 hurricane