Will Grier's Heisman Trophy run stops short of trip to NY

Getty Image

Getty Image

Haskins was the single-season Big Ten passing leader and threw for 396 yards and six touchdowns against MI to push the Buckeyes to a Big Ten title.

Mayfield, having won the 2017 Heisman Trophy, is a lifetime voter for the award.

Murray is the 10th Heisman finalist for Oklahoma, more than any other team in the country.

The Alabama quarterback was announced Monday as one of three finalists for this year's Heisman Trophy Award and will join Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins in NY for Saturday night's trophy presentation. He also ranks second in completion percentage (.709; first among Power Five players). Murray also tallied 892 yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground. His first season as a starter has been as good as advertised, with 3,353 yards passing, 37 touchdown passes and just four interceptions.

Passing: 241/340 (70.9 percent), 4,053 yards, 40 touchdowns, 7 interceptions, 205.72 passer rating. He put up 41 total touchdowns and two interceptions. He had his school- and Big 12-record streak of eight games with at least three TD passes snapped in a win against Oklahoma State on November 10.

Oklahoma's Heisman Trophy winners were running backs Billy Vessels in 1952, Steve Owens in 1969 and Billy Sims in 1978, and White in 2003, Bradford in 2008 and Mayfield a year ago.

Tagovailoa and Murray will also face off in the College Football Playoff, when No. 1 Alabama faces No. 4 Oklahoma at the Orange Bowl semifinal on December 29.

Murray replaced last year's Heisman victor, Baker Mayfield, for the Sooners and has been just as good. Only two schools (Notre Dame and Ohio State with seven each) have produced more Heisman Trophy winners than the Sooners.

NHL unanimously approves Seattle expansion
Britain Could Change Its Mind on Brexit — EU Court Adviser