Mohamed Salah wins African footballer award for second time

Egypt's Mohamed Salah included in CAF’s Africa Best XI

AMA Getty Images

Meanwhile, Morocco worldwide and Borussia Dortmund defender Achraf Hakimi, who won the 2018 African Youth Player of the Year award, failed to make the team.

Salah, who had earlier claimed the 2018 BBC African Footballer of the Year prize, competed against Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane from Senegal and Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Arsenal.

With his trophy in hand, Salah throws some shapes that you've most likely seen at a family wedding at some point in your life.

Salah enjoyed a record-breaking 2017/18 campaign, scoring 32 goals in the Premier League and 44 across all competitions.

Egypt and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah is the 2018 African Player of The Year for the second time on the bounce.

It was a good day for Egyptian football all round, with Egypt being awarded the right to host the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

"I have dreamt of winning this award since I was a child and now I have done so twice in a row", said Salah.

With the win, the Liverpool superstar retains the award he won past year to become the first North African to win the prestigious diadem back-to-back.

Spotted by scouts from Swiss club Basel, he moved there in 2012 before joining Premier League giants Chelsea two years later.

Salah blossomed in Rome, averaging close to a goal every two matches, and Liverpool paid nearly €41 millionn (£37 million) to sign him two years ago.

He also scored twice at the World Cup, which was Egypt's first appearance in the tournament since 1990.

The Super Falcons won the first award of the night; as they were voted as the Best National Women Team for the Year.

Women's Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian), Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit), Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash).

The Youth Player of the Year award went to Achraf Hakimi of Morocco, who plays for Borussia Dortmund of Germany.Morocco's Coach, Herve Renard beat Gernot Rohr to the Men's Coach of the Year crown, while surprise national team of the past year, Mauritania, won the Men's National Team of the Year.

The Goal of the Year award also went to Kgatlana.

Conor McGregor Calls Out Tenshin Nasukawa For Tokyo Superfight
Venezuelan supreme court justice flees country