MS Dhoni captains India in Rohit Sharma's absence vs New Zealand

Amy Satterthwaite and Kane Williamson

Amy Satterthwaite and Kane Williamson

Such a result wasn't a surprise - India had not lost back-to-back twenty20 clashes in a series since 2015, and it was always going to be hard for the Black Caps to back up their record win in the series opener.

A clinical India beat New Zealand by seven wickets in the second T20 global (T20I) on Friday.

Earlier in the match, openers Shikhar Dhawan (30) and Rohit Sharma set the game for India with a 79 run partnership for the first wicket before Pant and Dhoni finished it off with an unbeaten 44 run stand for the fourth wicket.

Unfortunately for the Kiwi contingent of the 36,961 fans at Eden Park, Rohit Sharma quickly put an end to those hopes, smacking 50 off 29 balls as he passed the injured Martin Guptill to become the highest run-scorer in twenty20 worldwide history.

The Black Caps face India in the third and deciding T20I in Hamilton on Sunday night, before the ODI series against Bangladesh starts in Napier on Wednesday.

During the second T20I of the ongoing India's tour of New Zealand at Auckland, former India captain and current wicket-keeper batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni once again donned the captain's hat as he led the side in the absence of captain Rohit Sharma. "Jimmy's impressed us with the bat this summer".

Krunal also got the controversial wicket of Daryl Mitchell (1), who fell pray to an umpiring howler, when "Hotspot" showed a clear inside edge onto the pads. Captain Kane Williamson, experienced Ross Taylor and Colin de Grandhomme could turn out as other run-getters for the hosts.

Once de Grandhomme was sent back by Hardik Pandya and Taylor was run-out, New Zealand's chances of a big total went up in smoke.

There is no place in the squad for wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert who struck a superb 84 off 43 balls in the first T20I against India.

Krunal Pandya celebrates the wicket of New Zealand's Colin Munro at Eden Park in Auckland.

NEW ZEALAND BOWLING: Southee 4-0-34-0, Kuggeleijn 3.5-0-32-0, Ferguson 4-0-31-1, Santner 2-0-16-0, Sodhi 4-0-31-1, Mitchell 1-0-15-1.

Abortion case shows Roberts firmly at Supreme Court's center
Owner: Grizzlies will retire Marc Gasol’s jersey in future