Laureus Awards: Rafael Nadal, Naomi Osaka up against Lionel Messi, Megan Rapinoe

Liverpool's Divock Origi celebrates scoring their fourth goal with Dejan Lovren Trent Alexander Arnold and team mates

Liverpool's Divock Origi celebrates scoring their fourth goal with Dejan Lovren Trent Alexander Arnold and team mates

Kipchoge has been nominated alongside Formula 1 champion Lewis Hamilton, Lionel Messi, Tiger Woods and Rafael Nadal. Furthermore, the "Sporting Moment of the Year" category features a certain Mick Schumacher.

The Springboks' 2019 Rugby World Cup triumph showcased "once again the exceptionally unique power of sport to unite", Sean Fitzpatrick said in paying tribute to Siya Kolisi's team for being nominated for the Laureus Team of the Year award yesterday.

Tennis star Naomi Osaka is in the mix for the Sportswoman of the Year award, with the remaining nominees being Simone Biles (gymnastics), Allyson Felix and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (athletics), Megan Rapinoe (soccer) and Mikaela Shiffrin (skiing).

UEFA Champions League winners Liverpool FC and FIFA Women's World Cup champions US are the footballing nominees in the Laureus "World Team of the Year" category.

The Silver Arrows squad will be battling Liverpool FC (Football), the South Africa Rugby Union Team, Spain's Men's Basketball Team, the United States' Women's Football Team and Canadian basketball team, the Toronto Raptors.

This is Hamilton's sixth nomination for the top award at the so-called "Oscars of the sporting world", following on from 2019, 2018, 2016, 2015 and 2009 - but he's never won "Sportsman of the Year".

The Reds are shortlisted for Team of the Year after winning the Champions League, UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup in addition to going unbeaten for nearly 12 months in the Premier League in 2019.

The "World Comeback of the Year" nominees personify the true spirit, determination and tenacity of athletes who have overcome hurdles to return to the playing field.

Rugby World Cup champions South Africa have been nominated by over 1,000 global sports media for the Laureus World Team of the Year accolade at the 20th anniversary Laureus World Sports Awards.

Osaka's not the only young WTA star up for an award as Bianca Andreescu is nominated for Breakthrough of the Year, and so is 15-year-old Coco Gauff.

Cuba's Omara Durand, the world's fastest female Paralympian in 2019, is joined by Dutch wheelchair tennis star Diede de Groot, US Paralympic skier and cyclist Oksana Masters, Dutch para-cyclist and para-triathlete Jetze Plat, Swiss marathon star and T54 800m world record breaker Manuela Schär and British seven-time para-swimming World Championships 2019 gold medallist Alice Tai.

The award winners will be revealed on February 17 in Berlin.

Google to drop support for third party cookies in Chrome
US TV host apologises for mocking Phoenix's facial scar